Skip to Login Skip to Content Skip to Secondary Navigation

Nomination for the Rev. Victor R. Yanitelli, S.J. Award 2018

2018 JASPA Awards of Excellence

In 1979, the Jesuit Association of Student Personnel Administrators (JASPA) initiated an annual award for outstanding service in the area of student life in Jesuit higher education on the occasion of its 25th anniversary. The award was named in honor of its first recipient, Reverend Victor R. Yanitelli, S.J.

Fr. Yanitelli was a member of the New York Province of the Society of Jesus. He was born on Dec. 16, 1914. He attended Fordham Prep and entered the Society of Jesus on Sept. 7, 1933 at the Wernersville Novitiate in Pennsylvania. He was ordained on June 20, 1948 by Archbishop Keough of Baltimore in the chapel of Woodstock College in Maryland. He came to Fordham University in 1950 as a teacher of modern languages but soon moved into a vice-presidency. In 1963 he moved over to St. Peter's College in Jersey City and in 1965 became its rector and president. In 1978 he became Chancellor of the College. He was also through much of this period an active member of the Board of the Port Authority of New York. At one time there was even some talk of his running for mayor of Jersey City. In 1980 he became Pastor of St. Ignatius Church on Park Avenue in Manhattan. In 1986 he became the Episcopal Vicar for the East Side of Manhattan and held that office until a few weeks before his death. He died on Jan 2, 1993.

In 1964, Fr. Yanitelli wrote: "There are five philosophic assumptions basic to the whole idea of student personnel work. They are its matrix. They give it life and make it meaningful. The assumptions are these:

  1. that student personnel work is educational (i.e. intrinsically related to the overall objectives of the institution);
  2. that student personnel work is intellectual (i.e. oriented to the life of the mind);
  3. that student personnel work, for want of a better word, is moral (i.e. oriented to the personal uses of freedom with responsibility);
  4. that student personnel work is social (i.e. oriented to the individual's life as a member of the group);
  5. and that student personnel work is personal (i.e. both in the sense of the individual's growth as a mature, self-directed person and in the sense that reference to the manner in which the institution involves the student in the educational process and endeavors to attain its objectives.)

The Yanitelli Award is JASPA's most prestigious award. It is given to persons in recognition of outstanding service to student affairs work in Jesuit and Catholic higher education, distinguished by a long-term commitment and support of Jesuit values to the campus, the profession, and the Association. The award winner is a person who may be fairly characterized as the servant/leader, in the tradition of Fr. Yanitelli. The award is given annually, though it is not necessary to determine a recipient every year.

Nomination Packet Should Include:

  • Examples of Nominee's Connection to the Award
  • Letter of Nomination (one)
  • Optional – Letters of Support (up to two)

Past Yanitelli Award Recipients:

2016 - Dr. Thomas Reynolds, Regis University & Dr. Cissy Petty, Loyola University New Orleans 
2015 - Dr. Lane Bove, Loyola Marymount University
2014 - Not awarded
2013 - Susan D. Weitz, Gonzaga University
2012 - Not awarded
2011 - Not awarded
2010 - Susan Donovan, Loyola Maryland
2009 - Richie Salmi, S.J., Loyola University Chicago
2008 - Not awarded
2007 - Liz Brent, Rockhurst University and Linda Lelli, St. Joseph's University
2006 - Not awarded
2005 - Ronald Slepitza, Xavier University
2004 - Not awarded
2003 - John Cernech, Creighton University
2002 - Not awarded
2001 - James I. Briggs, Santa Clara University
2000--1998 - Not awarded
1997 - Andy Thon, S.J., Marquette University
1996 - Jan Slattery, Loyola University Chicago
1995 - Lillian M. Levey, Canisius College
1994 - Judy Sharpe, Seattle University
1993 - Bernard O'Kane, Boston College
1992 - Henry F. Durand, Loyola University
1991 - William P. Schimpf, Fairfield University
1990 - Barbara Chryst, St. Peter's College
1989 - Thomas Emmet, Regis College
1988 - Eileen Lieben, Creighton University and Wayne Tinkle, Marquette University, Loyola University Chicago, & Gonzaga University
1987 - Edmund G. Ryan, S.J., Canisius College
1986 - Mariette LeBlanc, Loyola University Chicago
1985 - Kevin P. Duffy, Boston College
1984 - James Lavin, John Carroll University
1983 - Vincent P. Knipfing, Loyola University New Orleans
1982 - Edward Heavey, S.J., St. Peter's College
1981 - F. Anne Dolan, University of San Francisco
1980 - Mary A. Bruemmer, St. Louis University
1979 - Victor R. Yanitelli, S.J., St. Peter's College

Begin Form