Skip to Login Skip to Content Skip to Secondary Navigation

Beauty in the Bible Play- University United Methodist Church

AUG
27
Sunday, Aug 27, 2017 - Sunday, Feb 4, 2018
All Day
5084 De Zavala Rd, San Antonio, TX 78249Map Location

***Please contact Leah Chapa at rlchapa@sbcglobal.net or 210-296-1221 if you are interested in volunteering with this event.***

This play has a cast consisting only of people with special needs and to our knowledge this is the first production of this kind in San Antonio. Our hope with this play is for our cast members to be able to build lasting friendships and a support system within each other that will benefit them and their community, as well as teach the community that they are more alike than different. There are many studies that show kids with special needs suffer from many mental health conditions as they get older because of the lack of societal interactions and friendships. You volunteering with us is an amazing opportunity to join their world for a brief time and impact their lives and their community for a lifetime. Thank you for being a part!

 

Volunteer Opportunities include but are not limited to:

  • Set design: requires heavy lifting, common knowledge of tools, working with design plans
  • Costume Design: requires imagination and the ability to be able to put outfits together, common knowledge of sewing is helpful but not required
  • Stage Crew: requires minimum knowledge of a stage, ability to take direction, may require heavy lifting
  • Choreography: requires dance knowledge and the ability to teach dance steps to others
  • Coaching: requires patience as you will be working with special needs kids, being able to adapt to demanding situations, this role is best suited for those who are familiar with various diagnoses and how that impacts social settings
  • Miscellaneous: There are many little "odd ball" jobs that we will need help with so if you are free and want to help in any way there is plenty to do! This job only requires flexibility and willingness to have fun.

Rehearsal Dates: (Your volunteer role will determine what dates you will be needed) 

  • Sun, Aug. 27 - 3:30 PM- 5 PM 
  • Sun, Sept. 3 - 3:30 PM- 5 PM 
  • Sun, Sept. 10 - 3:30 PM- 5 PM 
  • Sun, Sept. 17 - 3:30 PM- 5 PM 
  • Sun, Sept. 24 - 3:30 PM- 5 PM 
  • Sun, Oct. 1 - 3:30 PM- 5 PM 
  • Sun, Oct. 8 - 3:30 PM- 5 PM 
  • Sun, Oct. 15 - 3:30 PM- 5 PM 
  • Sun, Oct. 22 - 3:30 PM- 5 PM 
  • Sun, Oct. 29 - 3:30 PM- 5 PM 
  • Sun, Nov. 5 - 3:30 PM- 5 PM 
  • Sun, Nov. 12 - 3:30 PM- 5 PM 
  • Sun, Nov. 19 - 3:30 PM- 5 PM 
  • Sun, Dec. 3 - 3:30 PM- 5 PM 
  • Sun, Dec. 10 - 3:30 PM- 5 PM 
  • Sun, Dec. 17 - 3:30 PM- 5 PM 
  • Sat, Jan. 6 - 3:30 PM- 5:30 PM 
  • Sun, Jan. 7 - 3:30 PM- 5 PM 
  • Sat, Jan. 13 - 3:30 PM- 5 PM 
  • Sun, Jan. 14 - 3:30 PM- 5 PM 
  • Sat, Jan. 20 - 3:30 PM- 5 PM 
  • Sun, Jan. 21 - 3:30 PM- 5:30 PM Tech/ Work/ Run Thru 
  • Sat, Jan. 27 - 3:30 PM- 5:30 PM Tech/ Dress 
  • Sun, Jan. 28 - 3:30 PM- 5:30 PM Final Dress/ Notes

Performance Days (Performance days are not mandatory for ALL volunteers, but ALL volunteers are welcome to see the show and will be recognized for your help) 
Sat, Feb. 3 (Beauty in the Bible) - 5PM- 7PM 
Sun, Feb. 4 (Beauty in the Bible) - 4PM- 6PM (Option cast part at 7PM)