Skip to Login Skip to Content Skip to Secondary Navigation

Welcome to the Student Government Association

Contact us! 2017-2018 Leadership

Student Body President: Katherine Spalding 

kaspalding1@catamount.wcu.edu | (919)457-8580

Student Body Vice President: Adam Lytle

ajlytle@catamount.wcu.edu

Chief Justice: Vinny Sciascia

sgatraffic@wcu.edu | vsciascia1@catamount.wcu.edu

Chief of Staff: Kelly Parkins

klparkins1@catamount.wcu.edu

Director of Internal Operations: Lauren Davis

ljdavis9@catamount.wcu.edu

Finance Director: Ben Hayes

bchayes1@catamount.wcu.edu

Inter-Club Council Director: Jake Anderson

jranderson8@catamount.wcu.edu

Director of PR & Marketing: Derek Ellison

sgaprandmarketing@email.wcu.edu | drellison1@catamount.wcu.edu

ASG Campus Liaison: Matt Opinski

mvopinski@catamount.wcu.edu

Advisor: Karen Walker

kwalker@wcu.edu | (828)227-2610

  •  Feel free to look around, join our discussions, attend our events and leave us messages!
  • All Forms are located under the "Forms" tab to the left. Please keep your forms updated.
  • Check out our calendar to see the events that are happening, and to see future meetings that your organization will need to attend!

Thanks,

SGA Staff

 

 

Portal Information

Description

The Student Government Association serves the student body by working with administration to improve campus life.
SGA has three brances: Legislative, Executive, and Judicial. The Legislative branch (Senate) works to change unpopular campus policies and procedures. The Executive branch provides a variety of programs for clubs and organizations and works directly with WCU administration. The Judicial branch holds traffic court meetings.

Category

Governing Bodies

Constitution

Please upload the current copy of your organization's constitution.

Mission Statement/Purpose

RSO's: Helpful hint, paste in this box your mission from your Constitution
Departments: Write where you are located, what your department is, etc.

We, the students, of Western Carolina University (WCU) for the preservation of our liberties, rights and well-being as a people and a university; do hereby assemble ourselves together for the purpose of governance and for the promoting of welfare of the students as the WCU Student Government Association (WCU-SGA).

The enumeration of this constitution of certain powers, duties, and privileges shall not be meant to diminish or deny others that are traditionally exercised, performed, or enjoyed by Student Government, its officers, departments, and students. We hereby ordain and ratify this constitution toward the better service of the students of WCU.

GPA requirement

All members must be in good academic standing (2.0) as defined in the RSO Agreement within the RSO Manual. Some organizations have higher standards, that may be listed below.

2.5

Does your organization require community service hours for membership?

No, but we're thinking about adding this requirement

Does your organization require membership dues?

No