Skip to Login Skip to Content Skip to Secondary Navigation

Welcome to Stetson University's ACM organization page!

ACM is a nationally wide recognized club among technical careers. We are mainly represented by students of three majors at Stetson: Computer Information Systems, Computer Science, and Digital Arts. However, we welcome computer enthusiasts of all fields.

We attempt to encourage and enhance interest in and understanding of the concepts of computer operations and their development, and to explore and promote an understanding both within the organization and the local community of the importance of computers in our modern society. This club runs off of student interests so if you enjoy technology and want to learn more, Stetson ACM Club is the place to be!

Portal Information


The Stetson Student ACM chapter was started in 1984. It's first faculty advisor was Deborah Branton, and some of the founding members were Anita Bardeen, Stephen McDaniel, Brook Monroe, Barry Pekin, and Melissa Titshaw.

After a brief hiatus in the early 90's, the chapter reactivated itself in 1996, with Wayne Staats as the faculty advisor. After a few years as advisor, Wayne has passes the faculty leadership over to Dr. Daniel Plante and then over to Dr. Hala ElAarag. Our current advisor is Dr. Joshua Eckroth

Stetson ACM boasts a dedication to the support and study of computer technologies to this day, epitomized by the Annual Programming Contest it holds each year for high school students. The Contest affords students the opportunity to earn scholarships and provide their schools with new, quality computing equipment. In addition to supporting the understanding and study of technologies, Stetson ACM strives to bring new enthusiasm and energy into the Computer Science department year after year by supporting majors who need help and creating a friendly, encouraging atmosphere.


Professional and Career-Development