Skip to Login Skip to Content Skip to Secondary Navigation

Bystander Intervention

Welcome to the Bystander Intervention Program

Welcome to the Bystander Intervention Program on Hawk Sync! Whether you are here to learn more about our program, events, future trainings, how to apply, or are looking to get involved, we are excited that you have stopped by and look forward to sharing with you ways to take action on our campus!

The mission of the Bystander Intervention Program is to empower Red Hawks to act both individually and collectively; to increase awareness of methods and campus resources to help you intervene; and encourage responsibility to take action.

How Does Bystander Intervention Work?

Bystander Intervention:
- Encourages members of the community to take ownership for themselves and others.
- Allows a voice for community members when they witness a dangerous or destructive situation
- Includes everyone as part of the solution.
- Provides an opportunity for the community to foster change.
- Provides information to facilitate intervention.

How You Can Help:
1. Be Aware of your surroundings.
2. Trust your instincts.
3. Don't dismiss any intuitive warnings you may feel.
4. Consider what you would want done for you.
5. If it is safe, act by intervening or calling an authority for help. For example, you can call Campus Police at extension 5222 or the Community Director of your residence hall.

Bystander Intervention Sessions are scheduled for the following dates:  

Fall 2016
Date Day Room Time
September 21, 2016 Wednesday CELS 428 12-1:30 pm
September 22, 2016 Thursday SC 415 12-1:30 pm
September 28, 2016 Wednesday CELS 207 7-8:30 pm
September 29, 2016 Thursday CELS 110 7-8:00 pm
October 3, 2016 Monday SC 416 7-8:30 pm
October 6, 2016 Thursday CELS 207 7-8:15 pm
October 11, 2016 Tuesday CELS 428 1-2:30 pm
October 13, 2016 Thursday SC 415 12-1:30 pm
October 17, 2016 Monday  SC 416 7-8:30 pm
October 20, 2016 Thursday  CELS 428 1-2:30 pm
October 25, 2016 Tuesday CELS 207 3-4:30 pm
October 27, 2016 Thursday SC 415 12-1:30 pm
November 7, 2016 Monday CELS 207 12-1:30 pm
November 10 Thursday SC 415 12-1:30 pm
November 15 Tuesday CELS 428 3-4:30 pm
November 17 Thursday  SC 415 12-1:30 pm
November 28 Monday SC 416 7-8:30 pm
December 8 Thursday CELS 428 3-4:00 pm

 

Portal Information

Description

A “bystander” is a friend, classmate, teammate, coworker, teacher, family member, or stranger who is aware of or observes situations and interactions that could lead to physical or psychological harm or damage to property. At Montclair State University, the safety of the campus is a number one priority. Bystander Intervention is acting, either directly or indirectly, to prevent the situation or to keep it from escalating. The goal of the MSU Bystander Intervention Program is to educate the campus about situations that may require Bystander Intervention, increase feelings of responsibility to take action, and empower people to act both individually and collectively.

Category

Staff Page(s)